News Article | 11/18/2011

Five inducted into Texas Business Hall of Fame

Five Texas business leaders were honored Thursday night by being inducted into the Texas Business Hall of Fame. The event was held in Dallas at the Hilton Anatole Hotel.

Honored were:

Lee Roy Mitchell, founder of Plano-based Cinemark USA Inc. and chairman of the board for Cinemark Holdings Inc.

Ross Perot Jr., chairman of The Perot Group and chairman of Hillwood, developer of the AllianceTexas project.

Colleen Barrett, president emeritus of Southwest Airlines.

Barry G. Andrews, owner and CEO of Andrews Distributing Co. and Andrews Distributing of North Texas.

Welcome Wilson Sr., chairman of GSI Welcome Group LLC and former chairman of board at the University of Houston.

Bill Boyar, business group shareholder at the Boyar Miller law firm in Houston, also was introduced as the new director of the Texas Business Hall of Fame Foundation at the event.

The Texas Business Hall of Fame Foundation was created to focus awareness on the achievements made by outstanding business leaders and to honor their contributions to their community and their state.

Past legends who are in the Hall of Fame include President George H.W. Bush, Overta Culp Hobby, Ross Perot, Ben Taub, Lloyd Bentsen Sr., T. Boone Pickens, Drayton McLane, Jr., Roger Staubach, Hugh Roy Cullen, and Jesse Jones.

The Texas Business Hall of Fame Foundation also gave $10,000 scholarships to 19 Texas college students.